Musing Monday!

Today’s MUSING MONDAYS hosted by Just One More Page is about book covers…

We all know the old adage about not judging a book by it’s cover, but just how much sway does a book cover have when it comes to your choice of book – whether buying or borrowing? Are there any books you’ve bought based on the cover alone?

– Yes! there are times when I buy books just for the cover. Although I always check the back to see what it’s all about. Speaking of which, I actually bought two of my books (check out books bought post on Saturday) based on the cover, although I checked the back of the cover since I didn’t want to waste any money. I think, it does give me a bit of sway because the cover is the thing that attracts my attention the most. That’s not to say that I just go for the pretty covers though. I’ve found many with the most ugliest covers in the world and they turned out to be excellent books.

The one thing though, my Harry Potter books from The Order of the Phoenix to The Deathly Hallows are ugly covers. My first books from The Philosopher’s Stone to The Goblet of Fire are real nice ones (my mom gave them to me from the US) but the Canadian versions of the covers are unbelievably nasty. It makes my entire Harry Potter collection look awful. I think it’s because they just look so mismatched and I’m one for order and prettiness when it comes to my collection.

My Twilight collection is going to look pretty bad. Twilight is a different cover (not the one with the apple) but the others are going to look like the black ones you see all over the place. *sighs* I hate mismatching books.

3 thoughts on “Musing Monday!

    • I would….once I do the Anna Nicole Smith thing and marry an old oil tycoon. He could buy me any books I wanted!

      I can’t do the second copies thing. I think to myself: “why buy another copy when with this money in my hand I could get another book?” 🙂

Leave a comment