Pride and Prejudice and Zombies Review

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

At first when I saw this book in some newspaper I had to check my eyes. Huh? Pride and Prejudice and zombies? what the hell? I checked it out on Amazon and yes, such a book does exist. I was a purist at first. I’m such a purist that the ONLY P & P out there is the A and E version. So I immediately labelled this book as sacrilege and ready to burn the heretics that ever thought of such an idea and to ruin the most romantic book in the world (in my opinion). Then I slowly gave in. I went into a zombie phase were I watched the movies, and then read some books (World War Z as an example) and thought to myself. Fine, let’s put my purist thoughts aside and give this book a chance.

I do not regret it one bit. The moment I read the first few lines I just cracked up laughing. The thought of the sisters Bennett being a pack of Buffy’s and instead of vampire slaying they’re zombie slaying is just hilarious. They crash into a party, never fear! the Bennets are here! hahah. I loved every bit of this book. It stayed 90 percent true to the main plot with a few deviations here and there (you’ll laugh about Mr Collins and Charlotte). Which I find perfectly acceptable. In my opinion, Elizabeth Bennet could kick Buffy’s butt any day. She’s got Shaolin training damnit! πŸ˜€

There are parts in the book where it can be extremely ridiculous but you will have to keep reminding yourself that this book is a parody of the actual story. To be prepared to take it all with a light heart (set all purist thoughts aside!) does help and makes the story much more enjoyable and a fun read all the way through. The book even supplies some very nice detailed illustrations for your viewing (or not) pleasure. Note, my favorite illustration? will have to be the last one. It made me laugh, but it gave me the warm fuzzies too. You’ll see what I mean once you get there.

I would say the only negative besides the little parts of over silliness? it’s not for the faint of heart. Some parts are graphic and detailed. You just have to remember this is a parody and it’s meant to be funny. If I can set aside my purist thoughts, I’m sure you can. (However you WILL NOT make me watch the P and P with Keira Knightley in it! I REFUSE!!!)

I give this an 8 out of 10. πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies Review

  1. I’ve got this on my challenge list too…glad to hear you liked it. I’m looking forward to it as a humorous and irreverent take on Austen. Thanks for sharing your review and good luck!

  2. Wow, I didn’t have this on my Everything Austen list, but there have been so many good recommendations on it that I guess I’ll just have to add it. Nice review!

  3. Hi:) You know, I had the same reaction (the purist one) about this book. I haven’t read it and was skeptical about reading it for the challenge. I don’t have it, but after this great review, I’m really considering getting it. Thanks:)

  4. I also found it hilarious! I read it before I knew about the challenge…oh well, one more book to read on the list! But I think you really should give the Keira Knightley P&P a try! It’s really good as well!

  5. Great review. I’ve been wondering how this book was. I have honestly not even read P & P. I did manage to get a free E-book of it from Amazon though, so don’t worry, it will be read within the next few weeks (hopefully I can get time!). I was pleasantly surprised when I got to work last night, when my best gay friend gave me his copy of Pride Prejudice and Zombies. He didn’t like it much, but he doesn’t like much of anything so I’m not taking his opinion to heart, lol.

    Thanks for the review,
    Jenni

  6. I read this one too, and thought it was hysterical! A bit like Monty Python set in Regency England. Very tongue in cheek, but very clever. And the pictures, well they were something else. A fun read. I’m glad I’m not the only one who liked it.

  7. I had the same gut reaction to the title of the book that you did! It’s so cliche, but P&P is one of my favorite books of all time, and it would break my heart to see someone fumble with a parody, but this book seems to hit the mark. Thanks to your great review, I’m going to give it a second look.

  8. I haven’t even read Pride and Prejudice yet (It’s on my To Read list!) but I really want to read this! I’ve been reading about it recently and it sounds great…. I think I’ll have to read the original first though to appreciate it more. Great review!! πŸ™‚

Leave a comment