Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

with 2 comments

The Goddess TestIt’s always been just Kate and her mom—and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear her mother won’t live past the fall.
Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld—and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests. Kate is sure he’s crazy—until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride, and a goddess. (From Amazon.ca)

I really liked this novel. I REALLY LIKED IT. I was so into this book, I finished it rather quickly. I don’t know what else to say except I loved everything about it. The plot, the characters, the setting, everything about it was wonderfully done.

The most pleasant surprise, was how the tests were done. It was completely unexpected and I thought it was going to go about a different way. Little did I know it was already happening when I least expected it. I liked Ava’s character. I thought at first she was the biggest baddest rudest jerk on the block, but she was also unexpectedly a very important character in the book.

I really liked Kate too. She was strong willed, and cared for others above herself. The romantic chemistry between herself and Henry/Hades was great! it was slow growing at first – which is to be expected, but once they hit it off they were so compatible that they were a pleasure to read. Not to mention Henry/Hades does sound extremely sexy (a la brooding tortured soul archetype) but it’s all good! it’s not cheesy, it’s not silly, and you can’t help but have a book crush on this guy too.

The plot was very well done. The pace was really good and it was interesting enough to get the reader going (and reading until it’s done!). There’s a good mixture of comedy, drama, and romance, yet also to add into the mix is mystery. The mystery part of the book was good. It did keep me guessing – although the list of suspects wasn’t that big however it was still an interesting read. My favorite parts though (besides Kate’s moments with Henry/Hades) were when she was with her mom in their ‘favorite place’. They were touching moments and you can feel her relationship with her mom was very special.

The ending was great! the test results were not what I expected and it was an emotional roller coaster. Some secrets were revealed (although I’m sure a lot more are going to pop up). I’m most definitely looking forward to what’s coming up next in this series.

I most definitely recommend this book to YA readers. It used the Persephone/Hades myth and didn’t chop it up, didn’t really deviate from it, and although there were one or two little changes, it didn’t drastically change everything. It’s well worth the read and leaves the reader wanting more!

I give it a 10 out of 10.

On a personal note: This novel hit me. It hit me hard. I say this because I most definitely know how Kate feels. I used to take care of my mom when she was sick. I do know how Kate felt through those moments. So I couldn’t help but feel for Kate, and what she went through, it moved me to tears. Never had I felt something like this for a novel. It made me think, this was similar to how I was living during the times when my mom was ill and bedridden. It also made me think, there’s people out there that went through the same thing I did, it was quite reassuring that I wasn’t alone. However, I was lucky enough to be able to say goodbye to my mom, before she died.

Written by Karoline

September 12, 2011 at 7:30 pm

Posted in 10, Review

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ohhh 10/10 you say…. I’ve been curious about this book so may now have to do something about it!

    Mel (He Followed Me Home)

    September 15, 2011 at 9:58 am

  2. Wow, it sounds like this book really hit a chord with you. Isn’t it amazing when you come across a character that you totally connect with and go ‘hey! I’m not the only one!’ One of the reasons why reading is so amazing.

    alitareads

    October 3, 2011 at 9:26 pm


Leave a Reply

