Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Numbers by Rachel Ward

with 2 comments

NumbersWhenever Jem meets someone new, no matter who, as soon as she looks into their eyes, a number pops into her head. That number is a date: the date they will die. Burdened with such an awful awareness, Jem avoids relationships. Until she meets Spider, another outsider, and takes a chance. But while they’re waiting to ride the Eye Ferris wheel, Jem notices that all the other tourists in line flash the same number. Today’s number. Today’s date. Terrorists are going to attack London. Jem’s world is about to explode! (From Amazon.ca)

First, I did not realize this was setting place in England, I only found out after reading a few chapters in. I don’t recall too much British slang in this book, and if there was, it was easily understood.

To start off, Jem’s gift for seeing numbers is interesting and it’s what sets itself apart from other books where the main character is always either hearing voices or seeing ghosts. So I thought this idea was rather unique. The plot itself is interesting and the pace is steady; neither fast or slow. Several scenes were times where I laughed (Jem and the birdie doo incident got me laughing so did Jem’s rolling ankle moments. I think the image of Spider cracking up laughing about it helped as well). There were other tender moments, and other moments that got me shaking my head. The reader experiences different emotions throughout the story, and this is what makes it such a great plot. Both Jem and Spider are excellent and well written. They both develop as the story goes on and it provides a real good entertaining read.

I liked both characters. They did fit well together and complimented each other. Spider was more of the comic relief between the both of them and Jem did the worrying part. However I liked how Spider looked out for Jem and although he was in trouble himself, it didn’t matter as long as the two of them were safe. All in all, I really did enjoy Spider as a character.

There was a part that irked me however, when Jem was freaking out and attracting attention to herself and Spider. That annoyed me. If she wasn’t freaking out like an idiot none of the rest of the plot would have happened but I can’t help but wonder, “what if?” things were different. Then again, perhaps the plot wouldn’t have been as exciting and it would have been a much different book.

Although the plot was great, I couldn’t help but notice some of it was just predictable. The ending was all right though, it was sad, but you figured that would happen. It was well written, and I will be reading the book after this one. It’s a great book with plenty of character development and leaves room with, I’m hoping, a sequel that lives up to this one.

I give it an 8 out of 10.

Written by Karoline

August 31, 2011 at 7:13 pm

Posted in 8, Review

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I continue to consider this one, maybe I should just go for it, the reviews are better than at initial release.

    Marce

    September 1, 2011 at 1:31 pm

  2. yeah I read the reviews, some thought it wasn’t that great. I’d say, take it or leave it. It doesn’t hurt to give it a try 🙂

    Karoline

    September 1, 2011 at 6:07 pm


Leave a Reply

