Book Blogger Hop 7/15

Book Blogger Hop

Today’s question is: How/Where do you get your books? Do you buy them or go to the library? Is there a certain website you use like paperbackswap?

– OoooOooooo I like this question! I get my books from all sorts of places! besides getting them by request, I also get them via:

– library

– thrift store

– the indie book store at the mall closest to my place

– amazon when I can’t find it anywhere else.

It’s mostly the thrift store though, as sometimes I get lucky and find the books I had on my wishlist!

I don’t do paperbackswap as there’s barely a site that suites residents of Canada. Plus, well..shipping is expensive for this sort of thing …..

So what did you answer? here! have some gnocchi with spaghetti sauce. mmmmm… Thanks for stopping by!

10 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop 7/15

  1. I’m an indie book reviewer too so I get plenty of books that way. I also hit the used book stores in town and the library book sales. Amazon gets all of my commercial purchases now that the local Borders is closed. I guess I should reacquaint myself with Barnes & Noble, but brick & mortar stores just can’t maintain the inventory that Amazon does. I also should go back to my town library, though I’m guilty of wanting to own books rather than borrowing them.

  2. Yah – another fellow Canadian who shares my disappointment in the lack of good swap sites, as well as an understanding of how ridiculously overpriced our postage is . . . even when they’re not on strike. 🙂

  3. I’m seeing a pattern of book acquisition here. After all, there are just so many places to get books and so many different ways to read them.

    It’s hard to beat the library for price and selection but it’s even harder to beat the convenience of browsing BN or Amazon from a Nook or Kindle, hitting a button and reading the book you picked in about sixty seconds.

    As usual, my answer to this week’s Book Blogger Hop question is all over the map. Hop on over and read my multipart answer – http://www.howardsherman.net

    Howard A. Sherman, Implementor
    http://www.howardsherman.net

  4. (Hopping by…hi!) I agree, surprise finds at the thrift store or used bookstore are the best. There’s something extra-satisfying about finding the book you wanted tucked away in a corner as if it was lurking there, waiting just for you…

Leave a Reply

