Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

Prophecy of the Sisters An ancient prophecy divides two sisters-
One good…
One evil…
Who will prevail?
Twin sisters Lia and Alice Milthorpe have just become orphans. They have also become enemies. As they discover their roles in a prophecy that has turned generations of sisters against each other, the girls find themselves entangled in a mystery that involves a tattoo-like mark, their parents’ deaths, a boy, a book, and a lifetime of secrets. Lia and Alice don’t know whom they can trust. They just know they can’t trust each other. (From Goodreads).

I have to say, I literally read this book from cover to cover in one sitting. It was that interesting. I loved the eerie creepy sensations you got while reading as Lia discovers more behind Alice’s malicious actions, and the paranormal aspects of the book really enhanced the dark creepy theme that dominates throughout the storyline.

Despite the usual cliche of sister vs sister (with twins to add) I thought the main idea behind the storyline was really good and it does differ somewhat from the usual battle of the sisters plots. What’s also nice to see is the addition of a historical fiction setting – which I personally like as it’s one of my favorite genres to read.

Lia and Alice are great characters and perfect opposites. Alice is just filled with evil that you can’t help but just hate her for her action and behavior. When things come to a climax towards the end of the novel (involving the twins’ brother Henry) I almost wanted to jump in and intercept Alice. I hated her for what she did. She’s just awful overall!

Although Lia might seem like the weaker one of the two, I can only hope she’ll get stronger later in the trilogy as it progresses. She’s got so much on her plate right now I’m hoping she doesn’t crack and become all emotional (like most main characters do in a series) later in the second or third book.

Despite a wonderful story, great characters, and an even paced plot, I can’t help but think there’s some similarities between this book and the Gemma Doyle series (by Libba Bray), but it’s not completely the same. If you’ve read both, then you just can’t help comparing the two. I can’t say yet which one I like better as I just started with this series.

However! if you liked the Gemma Doyle series, do pick this one up. It is worth the read and is a great book. The dark creepy theme and plot, a nicely developed cast of characters, and Alice becoming villain of the year gives the book a lot of substance to go through and will keep you interested until the end (which will make you want to get out and get the second book).

I give it 9.5 out of 10

2 thoughts on “Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

  1. I loved this one and enjoyed the 2nd, looking forward to the new release in August. I didn’t know of a similar, so thanks for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

