Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Review of The Duff by Kody Keplinger

with one comment

The Duff

The Duff

I first heard about this novel through book blogs as I was hopping through. It got pretty rave reviews. When I found out what “DUFF” really meant I thought: Really? only a douche could think of something like that. I was right. Wesley was, and still is, a douche. Anyway more on that later. Onto the review!

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “Duffy,” she throws her Coke in his face. But things aren’t so great at home right now. Desperate for a distraction, Bianca ends up kissing Wesley. And likes it. Eager for escape, she throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with Wesley.Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out that Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone. (From Amazon.ca)

Bianca is one of the most entertaining characters I have ever read so far. She made me laugh at so many points in the novel and I wrote down so many memorable quotes thanks to her. She’s definitely one of my favorite protagonists of this year. She’s got great wit, and I love her personality. Her insults directed to Wesley are so well done and well written I chuckle even after reading the book. All this being said, I immediately liked Bianca from the beginning. She’s an extremely likable character and grabs the reader’s attention quickly. I also really enjoyed Casey as well. She is the perfect friend every girl should have in their lifetime. Extremely supportive, friendly, funny, and cheerful she was the complete opposite of Bianca but they both complimented each other well. What I really liked is when she pointed out what she found were her physical ‘faults’ and compared herself to Bianca. It was as if she was trying to say there’s a ‘Duff’ in everyone.

The plot was good. Really good. It did catch me off my guard because I wasn’t expecting Bianca and Wesley to have this kind of relationship before. I don’t really quite understand why she would do so with a character like Wesley but it was mentioned that he was “hot”. The theme of being the ‘Duff’ within a group of friends really got to Bianca, and it’s perfectly understandable. Beneath her cynicism and wit, the insult really did get to her and it shows that she’s not just a two dimensional character with only wit and armed with great comebacks. She’s also got this other side of her personality where she’s just really alone and by herself with the issues at home. It’s gotten to the point where it’s so overwhelming for Bianca, that she just needed an outlet. That outlet just happened to be Wesley. Wesley as a character just did not appeal to me.

Although some may not agree with her relationship with Wesley, and the subject matter, I’d have to say, it’s really not any different from how some adults deal with their issues. It might bother some people, or it might not, however I’ll add that because of the subject matter this is really targeted towards older teens. Yet I wish Bianca could have chosen someone different as I really didn’t like Wesley and don’t think I ever will. The ending of the book does tie things nicely yet I wish some things ended in a different way.

I definitely recommend this book to YA readers, or those who want a really good laugh. Bianca is one of those characters that will be hard to forget. Combine this with great writing, and a very engaging and hilarious plot and you’ll get a novel that will want to make you finish it in one sitting.

I give it a 9 out of 10.

Side note (spoiler alert!): I really don’t understand this concept of girls falling for the douche. I really don’t. Once a douche, always a douche. Yet douches attract an infinite number of girls/women. Although you can tell Bianca and Toby were just so wrong for each other, you can’t help but ask yourself what would have happened if she went with Toby first instead of douchy Wesley? things just might have been different. Anyway! I’m all for Toby. He’s a sweet guy and I would prefer him instead of Wesley any day. I just don’t like Wesley because he has all the characteristics of what I don’t like in guys, and from what I learned, guys like these never change. So I found Wesley’s “change” in the book a little too optimistic. However this is just my opinion. Perhaps Bianca’s cynicism has now passed onto me. 🙂

Written by Karoline

February 10, 2011 at 7:47 pm

Posted in 9, Review

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why have I not read this yet??? This was one of the two books I was soooo excited about at BEA last year and I have yet to read it. I’m glad you liked it. Hopefully I’ll get to it soon. You make it sound fantastic!!

    Jenny

    February 10, 2011 at 8:19 pm


Leave a Reply

