Review of Paranormalcy

Paranormalcy

Paranormalcy

I caved in when I heard SO MUCH about this book. I mean A LOT. On Twitter, and through book blogs I go to. Okay. So I decided to jump on the boat, reserve it bright and early at the library. I’d have to say the cover is most definitely lovely don’t you think?

Evie’s always thought of herself as a normal teenager, even though she works for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she’s falling for a shape-shifter, and she’s the only person who can see through paranormals’ glamours. But Evie’s about to realize that she may very well be at the center of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures. So much for normal. (Taken from Amazon.ca)

There’s only one word that can describe Evie: cute. Everything about her is cute. I enjoyed reading what she was thinking and her actions are just like what a teenage girl would exactly do. This was accurately done and very well written. I thought the plot was good and kept my attention. It flowed smoothly and things were explained, yet still leaving the reader with questions that will be answered in the next two books. There’s a good healthy mix of romance, action, and comedy to keep the reader entertained throughout the entire novel. Some of the comments made by Evie made me laugh out loud, and the budding romance between her and Lend is a nice read.

I also really liked Evie’s friendship with Lish. They seemed like such a wonderful pair despite large differences between the two (Lish is a mermaid). I thought they were the perfect best friends pair I have ever read so far. Now in regards to the Evie’s romances, I’m not so sure if there’s really supposed to be some love triangle happening. I don’t think so since it looks like Evie and Lend are pretty well off together. Reth keeps on coming in the way but I found him absolutely revolting and definitely not boyfriend material. He’s like a real annoying fly but at the power of ten.

So, the plot’s great. The characters are pretty well done. The other reviews and opinions seem pretty accurate about the book. So why do I feel as if I didn’t enjoy this book much as others did? For starters, Evie’s obsessed with the color pink. I personally can’t stand the color and go out of my way to avoid it. She’s so girly it’s making me think she’s a book version of Barbie. Perhaps I’m so used to reading tomboy characters, or characters filled with sharp wit sans the cuteness. So this is a rather huge contrast and change that I had to adjust to. Actually, Evie started getting annoying after the first few chapters. However liking the color pink isn’t the only reason. It’s her constant descriptions of Raquel’s sighs. That got really old. REALLY FAST. I don’t care what kind of sigh Raquel did, just keep the story going! to me, it was silly and the constant repetitiveness of it got to me and sad to say, it made a large negative impact on my opinion of the book. If it wasn’t for these little things I probably would have enjoyed it much better. Perhaps I’m too used to tomboyish, mature like characters to properly enjoy Evie.

It really is a wonderful book and I probably will read the next two books following this. I’m only hoping Evie won’t get as annoying (ie: tone down the color obsession..and the descriptive sighs)..because if this persists, it may just sway me to not pursue this series at all. Yet I do recommend this book to those in love with YA paranormal urban fantasy. It really is worth the read.

I give it 7.5 out of 10.

Final Thought: Reth and Jace (From The Mortal Instruments Series) could be tied for The Biggest Douche of the Year contest….who would win that one? 😀

One thought on “Review of Paranormalcy

  1. Brandi says:

    You picked up on a lot of the same things that disappointed me about this book, but you’re right that it an enjoyable read for anyone who loves YA urban fantasy. Definitely well done in that area.

Leave a Reply

