Review of The Unusual Suspects

The Unusual Suspects

The Unusual Suspects

It is recommended you read the first book of this series: The Fairy Tale Detectives to understand the characters and plot better. The reader will have a much clearer understanding of the plot if you read the books in order.

In book two of the series, the Sisters Grimm start school at Ferryport Landing Elementary. Daphne’s lucky enough to get Snow White for a teacher—she loves little people—but poor Sabrina’s stuck with Mr. Grumpner and a class of mildly psychotic sixth graders. When Mr. Grumpner is found hanging in a spider’s web, it is up to the Grimms to find the Everafter who did it. If only Sabrina can get over her distrust of all fairy-tale folk. But how can she trust those who just might be responsible for the disappearance of her parents? (From Amazon.ca)

Very few books have managed to make me laugh. And I mean burst out laughing until your cry or until your guts hurt laugh. sure, I get a chuckle here and there from some books I’ve read in the past, but this one really got to me. I couldn’t stop laughing at some parts (the dodgeball part really did it in for me) and tears started coming down and my stomach hurt. It came to the point where I was told to keep quiet because I couldn’t stop laughing so much. I can’t remember a time where I enjoyed a book so much like this one.

The plot of this book was much better than the first one. There’s more mystery involved and with Puck, the humor is increased ten fold. Sabrina is still having a hard time adjusting and her rude behavior is still there, but whatever Puck does to her to upset her is justified in my opinion. I still find her disagreeable but I don’t dislike her as much as I did in the first book. Grandma and Daphne are still loveable as ever. The plot is certainly darker than the first one, and I like it. Although the culprit may have already been guessed, the plot still continues to be attention grabbing with some action, comedy, and magic scenes which is sure to keep the reader going.

The illustrations also add a nice visual stimuli for the reader, and I thought they were well done. The last drawing was a little creepy and gave me a bit of a chill but the way the ending was written, it certainly got me curious and I’m definitely going to continue reading this series. There is still the unanswered question regarding Daphne and Sabrina’s parents which I think is the main problem they’re trying to solve while other mysteries pop up in their way.

An extremely fun read, with lots of laughs, a lot of fun magic and mystery. This book is definitely recommended for all ages who love fairy tales and don’t mind a little twist to them. (Think Shrek). I wonder if others have laughed as much as I did while reading the dodgeball game scene.

I give it a 10 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

