Review of How to Wash a Cat

How to Wash a Cat

How to Wash a Cat

It’s been a while since I’ve read a cozy mystery (somehow, reading them in the summer don’t quite fit in…reading them during winter on the other hand…) but I saw this one, loved the cat on it and decided to give it a try. It’s certainly a cute cover though!

Following the death of an uncle, our protagonist inherits his antique store in the San Francisco area. To solve the mystery however, she has the help of her two cats, an unwanted nosy neighbor, and a mystery that dates back to the California Gold Rush days.

I thought it was interesting that the book had a nameless protagonist. You actually don’t learn her name until the very end. Which is a little odd…but interesting nevertheless. I really enjoyed how Hale gave the cats two distinct personalities. They were cute and the way they interacted with the main character was almost human (perhaps a little too human for some readers).

The plot, well I can’t say it was great, but I can’t say it was bad either. It was, all right to say the least. Lots of history was involved, and a lot of fact reading which became more tedious than I thought. So there were some parts of the chapter were you had to read slowly as the facts just seemed to be jumbled together and things just didn’t make some sense. Things just didn’t make sense in some parts of the book either. It felt as if the plot was stuck in a rut and events weren’t coming together. Either they came too slowly or they were repetitive and it was starting to bore me. However, then there were times in the book where something would happen all of a sudden and I’m left thinking; “What just happened?” and I found myself re reading certain parts of the book to see if I understood what was going on. The only parts I did enjoy were the ones involving the cats.

The characters didn’t really stand out in my opinion. Monty was bloody annoying. I was also trying to figure out why he was so interested in her Uncle and the Gold Rush mystery – really what benefit would he get out of it? was it just out of interest? or something else? even after the book I was still wondering what was up with him. The other characters in the novel weren’t that great to begin with and they did nothing that caught my attention.

The ending was all right. Although I was left with a lot of questions and I was also left with a lot of confusion. If it wasn’t for the cats, I probably would have either put this book down, or might have quit reading it all together.

Confusing, a lot of fact reading, and leaves the reader with a lot of questions. Not sure if I am going to read the second one. It may deserve a second chance. Perhaps this book will suit cat and cozy mystery lovers, but for those that don’t really go read cozies might want to avoid this book.

I give it a 3 out of 10.

3 thoughts on “Review of How to Wash a Cat

  1. I have to say that’s a cool title, even if the story was only so-so. I’ve never really read much in the way of cozy mysteries, but your review was really thorough and in-depth and gave me an idea of what to look for and what to avoid in them. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

