Review of Another Faust

Another Faust

Another Faust

Ever read Faust by Goethe? take that story, twist it around by introducing five teenagers, a matriarch, and several bargains with the devil that ultimately has its’ consequences, and you get Another Faust. – I could tell you more about the book, but I feel it’s up to you to pick it up and read what it’s about as it’s definitely worth the time.

There is only one way to describe this book. Deliciously and sinfully good. It’s like eating five pounds of chocolate knowing there will be extreme consequences later but no matter, it’s still good. So, why do I describe Another Faust this way?

For starters, I almost giggled with glee and delight when things started going well for the main characters, in particular, I loved the part Victoria played in this book. I loved her rivalry with Lucy. I cackled with glee as Victoria always found a way to upend Lucy – I laughed even more when the fighting escalated into hair pulling and punching. I couldn’t help but feel supportive towards Victoria. Perhaps it’s because I’m just sick of reading about characters like Lucy; picture perfect, the school sweetheart, the one with the potentially bright future..etc. Yes, you get the picture. Victoria is a classic and unforgettable villain that will stay with me for as long as I can remember.

The plot was very well done and got me turning the pages. Fast. Yet I have to admit I hesitated in the first few chapters. The descriptions of the school and the teens in it almost made me want to drop the book because I didn’t feel like reading anything that resorted to name brand listing or how expensive everything is. Almost. It was that little blip that nearly got me to drop this book. What kept me reading? It was Victoria. She really carried my interest throughout the book.

As for the other characters, I also liked the twins, Bella and Bice. They both were so different, yet they complimented each other well. I’m glad the authors didn’t use the good twin/evil twin cliche that’s been overdone in many other books out there. I also like Bice’s gift. It was the most interesting and unique one out of all of the characters. Each of them had their own little ‘gift’ yet it was Bice’s that really stood out. Of all the characters, I really didn’t like Valentin. What a spoiled selfish baby he was. Arg.

As for the ending of this book, it was left very wide open and I’m wondering if there’s going to be  sequel. It certainly would be interesting if there is going to be one. I’d really like to know the outcome of these characters. I actually did not want this book to end. I was enjoying it way too much.

Overall, a wonderful twist on Goethe’s Faust. I’ll be looking forward to Another Pan when it comes out (which may be a twist to Peter Pan? I’m not sure) I do recommend this book to other YA readers who want a change in their characters. Hooray for evil deeds!

I give it a 9 out of 10.

3 thoughts on “Review of Another Faust

Leave a Reply

