Review of City of Ashes

City of Ashes

City of Ashes

It is recommended that you read City of Bones before you read City of Ashes. You might be able to read this alone without the first one but it might be a little confusing as a lot has happened in the first one that leads up to events in this book.

Someone is killing Downworlder children in New York. Clary, immediately suspects Valentine and questions his motives. When the second of the Mortal Instruments is taken, the Inquisitors immediately go after Jace and ‘question’ him. All Clary wants to do is go back to the world she once knew. Yet it’s hard when your mom still is in a magically-induced coma, your father (Valentine) wants total domination, and you still have feelings for your brother (Jace). Yet Clary finds out she just can’t pick up her bags and leave. She still has a job to do as a Shadowhunter.

This book was just as good as the first one. Still filled with action, and intrigue. There were plenty of twists, especially when it come to some characters (Simon being the major prime example). I really did enjoy reading Simon’s story arc. It was just so interesting and there was so much development to his character. I just really like Simon overall. It did certainly feel as if he had a personality change. He wasn’t the fun loving guy anymore but was replaced by a more serious, older sounding Simon. I liked the transition as it wasn’t done in just one go. It was gradual, starting with issues with Clary and Jace, to other more life changing moments (I don’t want to give it away).

The plot was really good and interesting. It was a good mixture of action, a bit of romance, and funny wit all in one. There were plenty of parts where I found myself laughing at a comment or two – usually done by either Jace or Clary. There was one particular piece of writing I really did enjoy reading:

“Kissing Simon was pleasant. It was a gentle sort of pleasant, like lying in a hammock on a summer day with a book and a glass of lemonade”

To me, this was just a nice little piece of writing that I really enjoyed reading.  It may sound cliche, and corny to some but to me it is one of my favorite passages in the book.

Now down to the ugly part. I’m going to have to say this. I hear everybody raving about it and how awesome he is, how “hot” he is etc etc. I’m going to say it. Brace yourselves.

I hate Jace. I really do. Wow do I really hate him. I’d like to jump into the book and punch him. That or I hope Simon does me the favor one day. Hopefully.

Why do I hate him? he’s arrogant. He’s a jerk. He’s selfish. I admit yes there are some quotes from him that made me laugh but to me, he’s not boyfriend material. In fact he’s just a douche in my eyes. I don’t understand the appeal there is to this guy. Plus he ruins everything. Clary and Simon were doing just fine until Jace had to goose step in thinking he’s the hottest thing since the Twilight characters.

Also Clary was really starting to get to me throughout the last half of the book. I don’t understand her. She whines about being with Simon, and then thinks lusty thoughts about Jace – and here I am thinking that if I really wanted to read a book with brother and sister being ‘together’ I’d pull out Flowers in the Attic. It was getting to the point where I was just about to do so. I’m really glad Clary got her come uppins in the end in the love department. She really did deserve that for being so wishy washy. Right now I don’t know what to think about her. I used to like her a lot but after this thing with Jace and Simon I’m not so sure.

The ending was good and left at a real cliffhanger. I am looking forward to getting the third book to see what happens. Overall, the series is so far, really good and has been an exciting read. I am definitely looking foward to reading City of Glass.

I give it an 8 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

