Review of Vampire Academy

Vampire AcademyI don’t know why it took me so long to get to this one. I think it’s because I’m doing all it takes to avoid reading Twilight (why? I don’t know I think it’s because of the vampires sparkling that makes me run away screaming for Anne Rice’s vampires instead). Is it just me or does the girl on the cover look like Angelina Jolie? Anyway! onto the review!

Vampire Academy focuses on Rose and Lissa. Rose is a dhampir and sworn to protect Lissa who is last in her line of a Moroi vampire lineage. Lissa is under the threat of Strigoi (really nasty brutal savage vampires) and it’s upto Rose to train well and train hard to live up to the high standards of becoming a guardian for her best friend. Being dragged back to St Vladimir’s, Rose and Lissa face nasty gossips, cliques, forbidden romances (argh that sounds cheesy but it’s true), and the strigoi who are out to get Lissa.

I was skeptical at first. If this was going to be another vampire novel with its teens being obsessed with name brand clothing and the pages will be filled with what they were wearing I was about to toss this back to the return bin to the library. I was relieved and happy that it wasn’t. It was thanks to Rose that Vampire Academy is now one of my favorite reads of 2010. (Yes I’m a little late coming into the series). I loved Rose, loved her as a character, liked her wit, her strength, her volatile temper,  and although Lissa is important and central to the novel, Rose just seems to have taken the spotlight. Which I think is a good thing. Although it’s not to say I don’t like Lissa, but in my opinion, she just seems like the girly girl that always feels the need to be protected and coddled.

The plot was very interesting and I really liked how the dynamics of the Vampire Academy worked. (The dhampirs, and the Moroi taking classes yet they’re still two separate groups). This book was certainly very different from other vampire books I’ve read, but it was not only interesting, but I loved the action and the mystery surrounding Rose and Lissa (questions as to why they ran away, what Lissa’s specialty is when it comes to her powers, etc.) I like the ‘politics’ concerning the Moroi but I would like to learn more about the Strigoi and how they operate (then again this is just the first book so I’m sure later novels will explain this a lot more). There was a nice little twist in the end, albeit predictable, but still a very exciting and entertaining read nonetheless.

Also what I really liked, is great character chemistry. Rose and Lissa got along well (for the most part) and were ideally what best friends are supposed to be. Lissa and Christian, the chemistry is there but it feels like they’re developing and still needs room to grow – hopefully the later books will do them justice. However Rose and Dimitri are super together. They have that romantic tension that the reader can feel, and it’s so tense it could be snapped like a twig. I love them both as a team and as a potential couple. Note this book is meant for older teens for the occasional swearing, and some sexual themes.

Overall this is one of my favorites of 2010. I love the plot and I love the characters. Both of them went hand in hand in this book. I greatly recommend this to vampire lovers out there.

I give it a 9.5 out of 10.

2 thoughts on “Review of Vampire Academy

Leave a Reply

