Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Musing Monday 6/28

with 2 comments

This week’s musing asks…

What do you think of books that receive a lot of hype? (think of the “Twilight” saga, or “Harry Potter”, or“The Da Vinci Code”). Do you read them? Why, or why not?

It depends. I sometimes jump in the hype and read them and sometimes I don’t. I am probably still one of the few people that hasn’t read the Twilight Saga yet. I have all the books now but just haven’t gotten around to reading them. I read the Harry Potter series during the hype and no regrets there. I joined in The DaVinci Code trend late but that was a good read too. I guess, if it gets a lot of hype I’d be curious and give it a try. I did try getting into The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I couldn’t get into it. I read the first few pages and nearly snoozed my eyes off. I am still trying to figure out what’s so great about it. Anybody know?

Written by Karoline

June 28, 2010 at 7:58 am

Posted in Meme, Musing Monday

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree…I don’t choose a book primarily for the hype.

    My musing is here:

    http://meditationsbylaurelrain.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/monday-musings/

    laurelrainsnow

    June 28, 2010 at 6:04 pm

  2. I haven’t read Girl with the Dragon Tattoo so I wouldn’t know. When I tried reading the first page while browsing books at the library, I felt the same as you. I might pick it up sometime just to see if it gets better after the first several pages. I haven’t been tempted to pick up Harry Potter even though it’s constantly being recommended to me. But I might have to give that series a try, too. 🙂

    Jessica (BookLover)

    June 29, 2010 at 2:57 pm


Leave a Reply

