Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Sunday Salon: Review of Catching Fire

with one comment

Catching Fire

Catching Fire

After reading The Hunger Games I went straight to my library’s website to put the second book, Catching Fire on hold. To my dismay it was a large queue. I had to wait almost at least three or four months before I could get my hands on the book. It felt good to finally put my hands on it. Of course I could have just gone out to buy it, but I thought to myself that wouldn’t be such a great idea as there’s just too many books on my shelf at the moment.
It is greatly and strongly recommended to read The Hunger Games before reading Catching Fire.

To be nice to my readers, I will not provide a synopsis to Catching Fire as it will contain spoilers. So, if you haven’t read The Hunger Games, and don’t want to have any spoilers stop reading up to here. Otherwise, those who don’t care or have read the book can carry on!

The beginning of this book didn’t really appeal to me. Don’t get me wrong, I loved this book! I was left screaming at the end because of the wonderfully written cliffhanger ending. Yet I thought the beginning went off just a little too slow and I found Katniss just a little too “emo”. All of a sudden here was this very headstrong girl who suddenly became rather emotional (Gale over Peeta???? come on! Gale’s a geek!) and whiny. It was like as if her dark and dull mood suddenly brought you down as well. So, I thought the first half of the book was rather dissapointing. It did slowly start to pick up midway through and it was as if all the action, the suspense, the “meaty” parts were all reserved for the last part of the story.

It’s so nice to see Peeta and Katniss together. For some reason, I think of them as a nice perfect couple (Gale’s a bloody homewrecker and you know it!) and I’m hoping she would see it that way – however I guess we’ll see! Gale and Katniss just don’t seem right – but I think it’s because we don’t really know much about Gale and he doesn’t make such a significant appearance in the plot perhaps there will be more of him later in the next book

As regards to plot, I thought it was well done, albeit slow. Yet besides that complaint, I have none other. The intrigue and suspense came back in full. I love the cliffhanger ending which is making me eager for the next and final installment of the trilogy (Mockingjay). I really can’t wait for it to come out.

Overall, Catching Fire, a little slow to get the ball rolling, does end up living up to it’s predecessor. I’m eager to see how this series finishes.

I give it a 9.5 out of 10.

Note: My apologies for a rather not very well written review but I wanted to keep it spoiler free as much as possible!

Written by Karoline

May 30, 2010 at 9:24 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great Review! I know alot of people are liking this series!


Leave a Reply

