Review of Homicide in Hardcover

Homicide in HardcoverIt’s been a while since I read a cozy mystery. I figure this one suits me well (being a bibliophile) and decided to pick it up as it says on the cover: “A bibliophile mystery”. So I gave this a try to get my cozy mystery fix. This is also my last book for the Thriller and Suspense Challenge 2010! one challenge down! millions more to go 😉

Homicide in Hardcover features Brooklyn, a bibliophile herself who specializes in binding and restoring old books. When her mentor and teacher gets murdered, she’s the main suspect and is constantly followed by a very annoying (yet very sexy sounding) security officer named Derek who thinks she may have been behind the murder. Yet other suspects arise and suddenly Brooklyn feels her life is in danger. She tries to solve the mystery (reluctantly) with Derek trailing after her, and her potential murderer stalking her.

I’d have to say, I haven’t laughed so hard at a book in a while. Brooklyn isn’t your typical strong woman. She faints when she sees blood, she’s well..whimpy. Yet there’s nothing wrong with that. I thought she was filled with humor and wit, I found myself laughing at a lot of her thoughts and predicaments. What I found myself laughing more was her mother, who went into her mentras and chants when something was to go wrong. I think the entire story gets more kooky and crazy considering Brooklyn’s mother and father were part of a hippie community.

The plot is good and evenly paced. There’s a good amount of mystery and action. There’s bits of humor into it which certainly makes the mystery lighter and a more fun read. What I really enjoyed reading was the way Brooklyn eliminates the possible suspects and eventually finds out who the real murderer is. It was an interesting process of elimination and also helps the reader find out who the killer might be. I was close, but not close enough.

I enjoyed Brooklyn and her kooky family. Her possible relationship with Derek was also fun to read as he annoys her to no end. Especially moments where he makes fun of her and although Brooklyn is pretty good at comebacks herself, sometimes she stays dumbfounded and attempts to think of something to say while Derek keeps egging her on. They do make an interesting couple – however I have seen better.

Overall, a great cozy mystery that ended just a little too, but the humor and fun plot made it all the worthwhile read. This one is great for the bibliophiles and cozy mystery lovers alike.

I give it a 10 out of 10.

One thought on “Review of Homicide in Hardcover

  1. Great review! I’ve had this one in my TBR pile for awhile and now I want to bump it up to the top of the stack!

Leave a Reply

