Booking Through Thursday 10/29

btt button

Suggested by Jennysbooks:

Something I’ve been thinking about lately: “What words/phrases in a blurb make a book irresistible? What words/phrases will make you put the book back down immediately?”

– I don’t really know about the first question. Usually if it’s a quote that stands out I’d keep in mind of where it is and then go back to it and write it down in my book journal. However things that make me put the book down and cast it aside? usually it has something to do with body parts mashed together or getting kissed on, sighs and moans, or body fluids being exchanged. Then I just roll my eyes and the book goes into the donation chute at the library.  Usually anything with an animal and “killed brutally” makes me put the book aside too. I like blood and gore, but not to my furry friends. People are ok though we got a billion of those to go around 😛 unless it’s mass extinction or zombie invasion..then we’re in big trouble. I’m straying from the topic aren’t I?

What’s your answer? 🙂

6 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday 10/29

  1. I agree about animals and violence in books – nothing turns me off faster. I especially hate it when an author introduces an animal with the obvious intention of killing it off, just for effect – that’s just very bad writing.

  2. Good question! I think what gets my attention is when a book is said to be “unputdownable” because that’s the kind of experience I like to have with books – a story that I don’t want to stop reading.

    As for what makes me put a book down… hmm. I don’t have any examples at the top of my head, but I do remember instances that just make me want to throw the book under the bed, into the freezer, or just make me want to rip my face off. OK, maybe not quite that bad. But still…

    Let’s see, a few things that I think make me stop reading include:
    -Gratuitous violence, sex or animal cruelty.
    -When characters raise my stress levels with the stupid things they do (and keep doing!).
    -When I get to the middle of the book and I still don’t see a plot.

  3. Isn’t it funny that it’s easier to say what makes us put a book back down than what words make us pick it up in the first place. Thriller, suspense and psychological generally have me tossing books back onto the bookstore display tables quickly. 😉

Leave a Reply

