Sunday Salon: Review of The Cage

The Cage

The Cage

Thankfully I got to read non stop for about several hours uninterrupted and without distractions. It was nice. So, I got to do two reviews in a day 🙂

The Cage is the story of Riva and her family who are Polish Jews and are living through the second World War. You are looking at the world through Riva’s eyes as she struggles to survive and take care of her brothers while avoiding being rounded up and deported. You read with her as first she lives through the ghetto, then eventually gets deported and separated from her family. From them on, Riva has to survive on her own and try to survive through the horror of camp life.

I thought it was a good book. I’m assuming it’s a memoir of the author’s life (once I read her biography on Wikipedia). This book sounds vaguely familiar and I believe I have read it before a long time ago but nevertheless I thought I might as well read it again. It’s a small book with less than 200 pages and I was so interested and engrossed in it that it took me several hours to finish it. I wanted to keep reading to see what would happen next, I wanted to know how she managed to survive through the entire ordeal and still manage to keep hoping and to keep living. Riva is one of the most strongest characters I have ever read so far.

I admired Riva for having to take care of her brothers through the hardships of living in the ghetto. Then having to be forcefully separated, she had to survive on her own and she never lost hope. It’s as if she drew strength from losing her mother to give her the will to stay alive. Although the situation was always bleak and survival is never guaranteed, it was amazing to see how Riva managed to continue to hope even in the face of this kind of adversity.

There were a few things with this novel that I did not quite agree with. First I noticed it’s somewhat catered to children and I sort of have to wonder about that. I realized children should be taught about this moment in history but I think this book really should be catered towards teens as this story surrounded Riva in her teenage years. It just seems to make more sense. Also, I found the flow of the narration to be a little jumpy throughout the first half of the book. It was first one major event then it just skips directly to another there wasn’t real flow to put the two together into one smooth transition, it felt almost as if it was the writing was rather haphazard.

Overall though, a touching Holocaust story and not one to be missed. The story tells you that without hope, there really is nothing to live for and it’s a lesson to learn for everyone in future generations to come.

I give it an 8 out of 10

2 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Review of The Cage

  1. Wow, what a great review! This sounds like a really good story. Isn’t it fun to be able to sit and read uninterrupted for a stretch? It really makes reading a book so much better, I think!

Leave a Reply

