Sunday Salon: Review of Beauty Sleeps

Beauty Sleeps
Beauty Sleeps

I love fairy tales. My favorite one is Sleeping Beauty. Speaking of that, the hombre also bought me Disney’s Sleeping Beauty on blu-ray today! so it’s a double Sleeping Beauty day. This book features a retelling of the classic fairy tale.

The book is your standard Sleeping Beauty tale. A princess is held under a curse where if pricked with a needle she’d be asleep for a hundred years until a kiss wakes her up from her slumber. The similarities end there. Aurore (the Princess) isn’t your typical royalty. She’s out on the fields working alongside the peasants on the farms and restoring houses. Basically she’s your “hands on” Princess. I think it’s more realistic than your classic fairy tale. The King and Queen are more present in this story. Oswald who is nicknamed “Prince Charming” is also more involved in this tale. It does make it slightly more interesting as you don’t see many of these characters in the original fairy tale so it adds another dimension to it.

I wasn’t really too interested in any of these characters despite their new presence into the story. Aurore is somewhat of a spoiled brat, a moody one too. As we are all familiar with the story there really is no need for character development, and there isn’t any. These characters are two dimensional and flat. Sad to say, despite this being my favorite fairy tale, I wasn’t really into this book. I couldn’t really get into the plot which was a little dull and not that exciting to begin with. There were a few parts in the book that caught my attention but then it instantly goes back to being flat in a second. The plot was rather dry and although there is an “evil witch”, the final battle…well let’s just say you’ll be disappointed as I was.

I’d say the only good thing I actually liked out of this is the increased presence of other secondary characters. Otherwise I wish I could have liked it more but I just couldn’t get into the story. It didn’t get my attention and the characters aren’t really that great. The ending was very different and it provides a different twist but it wasn’t enough to really get me to really like the book. Thankfully the book is less than 200 pages so it wasn’t a painful read, although I’m sure it could have been better.

I probably will pick up her next few novels just because I want to see the different twists she puts on the fairy tales. Although if they aren’t better than this one, then perhaps I wouldn’t go further. However I’m stubborn and I do believe in second chances, unless it’s something I really can’t stand.

Overall, tolerable, and interesting few twists on the fairy tale. However it falls short on plot and characters. It could have been so much better.

I give it a 3 out of 10.

One thought on “Sunday Salon: Review of Beauty Sleeps

Leave a Reply

