Booking Through Thursday 10/1

btt button

Suggested by Monibo:

Saw this article (from March) and thought it would make a good BTT confessional question:

Two-thirds of Brits have lied about reading books they haven’t. Have you? Why? What book?

Several books come to mind. One was called I Heard the Owl Call my Name by Margaret Craven and the other was Never Cry Wolf by Farley Mowat. Why? those two were the most boring books I read and I HAD to read them at school not to mention do a stupid report on them. So what I did? I gave them to mom and she would read them and tell me what’s going on. Then I just wrote what she told me. Hey, it worked. I passed 😀 Even mom thought those two books were boring and it was agony for her to go through it (although that’s what moms do don’t they? they go through punishment for their child) (har har) to make it more funny, some people actually copied from my book report too HAHAHAHAH.

Other than that, those were the only two books I “faked” reading. After that school was a little more nicer and chose better stuff to read like Shakespeare. Now that was fun.

7 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday 10/1

  1. Ha, that is so funny! I think I did that back in high school a few times when I’d rather read a book I picked than what the english teacher picked! LOL!

  2. LOL! I cant think of any…. skimmed yes. Through the years there have been a few book club reads that I did not enjoy that I skimmed enough to be able to lead us through the book discussion.

  3. I’m going to parse words here – I’ve never lied about reading a book.

    In my Victorian literature class at college I didn’t finish Sir Walter Scott’s “The Bride of Lammermoor” but no one ever *asked* me if I finished it. I read a portion, listened in class, and struggled through the test.

    So I can brag that I’ve never lied about reading a book.

    Smugly,
    Michael OCD

    p.s. It all depends on what the meaning of the word “is” is.

  4. What a great mom! Don’t think my mother would have done that for me, but she wasn’t much of a reader back then.

    I don’t think I’ve ever lied about finishing a book. Did employ Cliffs Notes a few times in high school, but my teachers never actually “asked” if we read the book. *L*

Leave a Reply

