Review of Mr Darcy’s Diary

Mr Darcy's Diary

Mr Darcy's Diary

I recently started taking the plunge into the world of Jane Austen sequel novels, at first I didn’t really think much of them until the one with the zombies came out then I just had to read that one and then decided to try out these sequels after all. The first one was Pride and Prejudice and Zombies which was a wonderful and great laugh. Next up, is Mr Darcy’s Diary which you could say, is my first real Jane Austen sequel book.

Mr Darcy’s Diary by Amanda Grange follows the same Pride and Prejudice plot but through the eyes of our beloved moody Mr Darcy. The book is written in epistolary format (ie; as a diary, naturally) so some who aren’t used to this may take a while to get used to. I haven’t read many epistolary novels much but this one flows evenly and it’s not choppy so reading it isn’t difficult or hard. In fact, it makes the experience nice and enjoyable.

I have to admit, I thought it was going to be a serious novel as, seeing it was through Mr Darcy’s perspective he’s going to be dour, moody and serious so it only fits that the novel should reflect that. It’s not entirely what I expected. I found myself chuckling and laughing at some parts especially at how Darcy has to look after Bingley most of the time. Bingley is shown in this novel as very scatterbrained, impulsive and comical (in fact, the exact opposite of Mr Darcy) and Mr Darcy is seen as having to steer him onto the proper road all the time. Although, when the story starts out when them arriving at Netherfield and Darcy completely hating being there with “country folk” I have to say I thought Darcy and Caroline were two of the biggest snobs I have ever read in my entire life. I couldn’t stand their talk and thought it was absolutely cruel of them to purposely separate Jane and Bingley like that. It made you almost want to punch Darcy in the face.

What gave me the chuckles the most was his constant denial of trying to not think about Elizabeth. In most of his diary entries in the beginning he swears to not think about her but then you see him mention something of her character, or how she looked. It was funny but at the same time it was interesting because it gave the reader the opportunity to see what Darcy was really thinking when certain climaxes happened to take place through the Pride and Prejudice plot. I loved his thoughts when he was around Mrs Bennet or even Mr Collins. I knew I laughed out loud at parts where he write of his opinion of these people. It was also nice to see more detail into his bantering back and forth with Elizabeth which is seen as almost a means of flirtation but in a very subtle manner that only both of them could understand.

The story stays close and highlights the most important parts of Pride and Prejudice with tidbits of what happens in between those events but what’s more important is towards the end it gives you a little more of what happened after the ending and I thought that was the most interesting. I liked how a tiny addition could make the novel even better. I liked how there were knots tied to characters I was curious about and how the happy ending was made even more happier.

Overall, Amanda Grange does a wonderful job with this book and I’m hoping fans of Pride and Prejudice will enjoy this book as much as I did. It was a great, entertaining and very light hearted read.

I give it an 8 out of 10.

9 thoughts on “Review of Mr Darcy’s Diary

  1. I completely agree with your review! I greatly enjoyed this book… how wonderful to read P&P from Darcy’s perspective. I’ve also read Mr. Knightley’s Diary… it was good, but I liked Darcy’s more. And I just bought Colonel Brandon’s Diary (it’s on my list for the Challenge) but I haven’t started it yet…

  2. I love Pride and Prejudice. And this book sounds great! The epistolary format doesn’t bother me and I think I would really enjoy reading P&P from Darcy’s perspective. Thanks for bringing this to my attention; you have such a way with words!

  3. I love Austen fan fic (okay, some would say I have a problem bordering on obsession but in my mind, I’m just a zealous fan). I haven’t read this one yet but your review makes me want to! I have Mr. Knightley’s Diary in my stack of TBR books but haven’t gotten to that one yet either.

    Great review!

  4. I really enjoyed P&P!. It sounds like a fun read to be in Mr. Darcy’s head and when I come across this title again at the store I’ll have to give it a go. Awesome review.

  5. I’ve never read any of the “sequels” to books that weren’t written by the original author. I think I’ve always been afraid because it will always taint the way I think of the original. Like if I read this then when I think back to or re-read Pride and Prejudice I’ll feel like I know more about Mr. Darcy than Jane Austen intends for me to. Did you feel this way at all?

  6. This does sound intriguing, Karoline. It’s been many years since I read “Pride and Prejudice,” so I should probably reread it before tackling this one, right?

    Speaking of Jane Austen, did you read the book and/or see the movie “The Jane Austen Book Club”?

  7. naomijones says:

    Interesting review. I thought the book was rather funny too. I’ve also started reading Pride and Prejudice sequels, though the only other sequel I’ve read is Mr Darcy, Vampire. I enjoy that too, partly because I’m a fan of vampire novels too. Have you read it?
    I skimmed the zombie version of Pride and Prejudice as well, but I didn’t think very much of it.

Leave a Reply

