Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Review of Jumping Off Swings

with 4 comments

Jumping Off Swings

Jumping Off Swings

First! thanks Nicole at Candlewick Press for sending me this book! why I chose this one I don’t know. It just called out to me. Lately I’ve been in the mood of trying different type of books. So far so good. Haven’t had one that I have regretted asking for.

Jumping Off Swings by Jo Knowles covers a teenage pregnancy through the eyes of four characters: Ellie the would be mother, Corinne her best friend, Caleb the nice guy who’s had a crush on Ellie, and Josh, the would be father. Throughout the story you go through Ellie’s pregnancy and how each of these characters feel as they try to help her through her ordeal.

I found it a very sombre story. Ellie just wants to feel and be loved. Although she’s going about it the wrong way, as you read more into her character, you see her family isn’t your typical loving one. As you figure out how her family really is, you understand and start to sympathize with her as the story progresses. I have to admit I didn’t really have much patience for Ellie. I just felt like shaking my head and slapping her across the face and telling her to wake up, grow up and do the responsible thing whatever it is. On the other hand, she’s extremely scared. This sort of thing is very life changing, so her behaviour is understandable.

The plot flows well throughout this story, each chapter is told in each of the character’s perspective so you have a glimpse of how they live and they problems and issues they face even though it’s all centralized with Ellie. I can’t help but think this is like one of those made for TV after school specials for teens. It sure seems that way when I was reading this book. However, it does the job of engrossing me and kept me turning the pages to read on. Most of the time you just feel so sad for Ellie and what she’s going through (once your initial anger phase goes away). I changed my mind about her more than halfway through the book and realized that she indeed is a very brave person to go through her decisions regarding her baby.

The only thing that irks me is Josh. I don’t know how the rest of the guys feel when they’re having an unexpected surprise spring on them by a girlfriend. I suppose the pessimistic side of me expects them to just take a hike and leave. Although I know most guys probably aren’t that way, you just hear about the bad ones more. So I’m not sure if Josh as a character is realistic but that’s just me. You would think most guys would run away at the sound of “baby” and “yours” put together.

Other than that, I thought all characters had a sense of realism to them. They weren’t the cookie cutter ones you read in some of those teen books where everything is perfect. They each have their issues and problems too. It makes the characters almost “three dimensional” so to speak. The ending leaves with a sombre note too, but with a sense of optimism for some of the characters.

Overall a good sombre, serious read, but a satisfying one.

I give it a 7 out of 10.

Written by Karoline

August 29, 2009 at 1:05 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Real nice review! My favorite writing style is having different perspectives from each character. I also really love it when the characters feel real and not these perfect little souls.

    I think it’s really cool youโ€™re trying all types of books, but I can’t wait to see one of your reviews for a fantasy or Sci-Fi book. I just wonder what you’d recommend and because your reviews are really well put together (unlike some I’ve seen).

    I see your reading Mr. Darcy’s Diary are you going to be trying out Mr. Darcy Vampyre? I’ve seen it around, but haven’t picked it up yet. I did read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies I liked it well enough, but I think it was a little too much like Pride and Prejudice (which I loved) and not enough Zombie mayhem, IMO…LOL!

    Anyway, Awesome review! I think I really like this cover, by the way!

    Krista

    August 29, 2009 at 5:53 am

    • Actually yes, I have Mr Darcy Vampyre on my TBR list ๐Ÿ™‚ should be opening it but have others that are in the pile that need to be read first. I can’t wait to get into it actually.

      As for zombies..I LOVE ZOMBIES! THEY’RE COOL!!!! *grabs the sawed off shotgun* ๐Ÿ˜›

      Karoline

      August 31, 2009 at 10:20 am

  2. This does sound like a unique teen book. Reminds me of one of mine! lol… “An Accidental Life.”

    laurelrainsnow

    August 29, 2009 at 11:02 am

  3. Wonderful review. I actually have this one coming up! I always like to get other like-minded opinions right before I’m about to start a book! (But that’s just me…LOL)

    Love your blog! (and thanks for having me!)

    xoxo Amy (Park-Avenue Princess)

    Amy (Park-Avenue Princess)

    August 30, 2009 at 7:37 am


Leave a Reply

