Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Sunday Salon: Review of Night of Flames

with 4 comments

Night of Flames

Night of Flames

Hooray! yet another review! You certainly feel a good sense of accomplishment when you finish books and review them. πŸ™‚ Anyhow…

First of all, thank you Mr Jacobson for being so nice for sending your book for me to review. Much appreciated as this was one of my first books received. *hearty applause* This book, Night of Flames, is one for fans of World War II era novels, or those simply interested in reading a book filled with drama and action.

Like some of the books I have read from this era, Night of Flames reflects the hardships people had to endure during this time; from hiding away and avoiding arrest, to desperately trying to survive through very difficult times, to leaving your home and finding another one hoping you’d be safe there, and to find your loved ones hoping they had survived.
These are most of the themes covered in this book.

You go through the book through the eyes of mostly Anna and Jan Kopernik. Jan, who’s a Polish officer and hesitantly becomes a member of the Resistance and spy, and Anna, his wife who then becomes a member of the Resistance in Belgium. There’s a few characters whom you share the point of view as well, but Anna and Jan are the main ones. Of the two, I like Anna the most. She turned out to be the stronger of the two and the most resourceful. (Examples include her having to get out of Poland with some friends and arriving at Belgium to survive and helping the Resistance). Having said that, you’ll find Anna goes through a lot but manages to come out of it alive (although mentally scarred, as you’ll see when you read the book). I don’t know what to say about Jan. There was really nothing he could have done better as his main goal through the book was to find Anna. I guess you could say he was strong as well; having to go through dangerous missions while not forgetting his main goal at the same time but I just find that I am emotionally more attached than Anna than I am of Jan for some reason, I suppose her character just developed a lot better. Speaking of characters…

Dieter Koenig will make you skin crawl, the hairs on your arms rise, and your stomach to heave. That’s all I have to say about that.

Plotwise; I love the plot. There were a lot of nail biting moments and plenty of action. This is definitely not a boring book. There’s not much deviation from the plot although I noticed the main focus was really on Anna and her part in the Resistance. Not to say Jan didn’t have an equal share in the plot..I suppose Anna’s part in the plot was just a little more exciting! Given the theme of the story, I’d have to say it was sad. The ending wasn’t really what I expected and left me with a sense of melancholy. Perhaps it was meant to be that way. Let’s just say the ending was rather, bittersweet. I’ll leave you to judge.

Overall a great book for the World War II history fan like I am. Definitely not one to be missed. Pick it up when you can. It’s a good read and the action will leave you turning page after page.

Check out the author’s website: http://www.douglaswjacobson.blogspot.com πŸ™‚

I give it an 9 out of 10. (Yes…I love WWII stuff.) πŸ™‚

Written by Karoline

August 16, 2009 at 2:26 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oooh looks good.

    danielle

    August 16, 2009 at 2:33 pm

  2. Haven’t heard of this one but looks good.

    I hear ya on the sense of accomplishment thing!

    Jenny

    August 16, 2009 at 3:29 pm

  3. I just read this one and I also loved it. I agree about Anna – she was incredibly smart and resourceful, she was really a character I respected and enjoyed reading about. Great review!

    Heather

    August 17, 2009 at 5:57 pm

  4. I really enjoyed this one when I read it a year or so ago as well! I love reading WWII stuff as well, and so have been recommending this book to any other fans. I particularly liked the fact that it was set in Poland and Belgium. So many other European WWII books are set in France. This was a nice change.

    Marg

    August 21, 2009 at 3:01 pm


Leave a Reply

