Review of The Godfather

The Godfather

The Godfather

I’m on a roll here. A lot of reviews this week. I’ve been doing the major grind! I’ve been wanting to diminish this pile lately..it’s been getting smaller but new books just somehow make their way back home when I leave thrift stores or libraries. ๐Ÿ˜€ Anyway! enough time wasted, let’s get to our review: The Godfather is every bit the classic as the movie and one of the few where I like both the book and the film. In my opinion, this is the heart of all Mafia type novels and I think there can be nothing better than this book.

The book starts off with an introduction on what kind of a person Don Corleone is. He oozes respect and class. The first few lines you read about him, you know that although he’s the type of person you would turn to and someone you can trust, there’s another side of him you wouldn’t want to see and better off not knowing. Throughout the book you get mini stories in between the actual real plot. You get the inside-out of other characters and their background stories. It does aid the plot in some areas, in others, it’s just a way of knowing some extra information – which still makes it a great read. Yes, you do get the classical Mafia wars that’s an automatic requirement to make this a “mob novel” but it’s done in such a way where it’s classy and although it’s unfortunate to happen to some characters in the novel, you’re left thinking: “Well..you should have known better in the first place”.

The characters are rich and filled with life throughout the book. I think it’s thanks to these “mini stories” you have throughout the novel and it gives the characters more “flesh” so to speak. I like how they’re all connected somehow with the Corleone family either through family relations, friendship, or the “favour” being done so the debt is being repaid. There’s not too many characters to make it confusing, and there’s even a specific part in the book where Puzo takes the time to explain to the reader which Don is which and of which family he is leader of, also he explains the ranks of Mafia as well to help the reader understand. He does a great job with explaining carefully that you’re not left lost or wondering who is who. It may feel like there’s a lot of characters but there’s really just a group of central characters that you have to focus on which makes it less confusing and a much enjoyable read.The plot is very well done. There are certain parts where the plot “takes a break” and it may bother some readers, it didn’t bother me I actually enjoyed the mini stories and in some cases it helps you understand how a certain character’s relationship with the Don came to be.

Things that may bother some readers, some gory details, naturally this is a Mafia book so there will be blood. There are racial slurs and moments of misogyny and sexism. If you can read through that without bothering you, then this book will be a great read. I think it’s a classic. The only real beef I have with this particular edition of the book is there are a lot of grammatical and spelling errors. I don’t know why there’s so many errors but it does get in the way of certain phrases and some spelling errors are so blatantly obvious you’d have to wonder if it was Nino proofing the book (har har laugh with me if you understand what I’m talking about) ๐Ÿ˜›

Overall a great Mafia read and although it’s a whopping over 500 page book I don’t regret it. It’s definitely worth the time.I like both the movies and the book and will probably put this book among my favorites.

I give it a 9 out of 10.

I’ll also leave you with a great quote:

“Revenge is a dish that tastes best when it is cold” (Don Corleone)

5 thoughts on “Review of The Godfather

Leave a Reply

