Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Review of Fear the Worst

with one comment

Fear The Worst

Fear The Worst

First of all, thank you very much the lovely people at Randomhouse.ca for giving me the opportunity to read and review Fear the Worst. I greatly appreciate it. *hearty applaud* Now! where do I start?

The book starts off with Tim Blake, a normal average car salesman who finds out his daughter is missing. When he goes where she’s currently employed to ask if they might have seen her, he finds out they haven’t even heard of her. In turn, this opens up a huge can of worms as Tim is set off on a wild goose chase that’s filled with more twists and turns I have ever seen in a book.

I liked how the main protagonist is a simple car salesman. We don’t get very “normal average every day” people as the ones who are caught up in this sort of dilemma. It’s a nice refresher and gives you a break from other stories which always include either a detective, a member of the police, or even a member of the military. It gives the plot an overall realistic flavour to it. However wrong it is, a lot of teenagers and children are missing everyday and we don’t usually see it from the parent’s point of view.

My heart went out for Tim. I don’t know how it feel like to be a parent but sometimes on my evil juvenile days I used to make my parents worry a lot and they would probably feel like Tim did. There were times in the book where his acts of desperation in finding his daughter just makes your heart want to sink. He’s not exactly a character you would like or dislike, but he’s someone you would cheer for until the end.

I don’t have many criticisms for this book. I just advise if you are going to read this, pay very close attention. 🙂

The book has plenty of twists and turns and throughout the book you find everybody has a dirty little secret and as you follow Tim you eventually figure them out. I actually liked that, as some of their secrets are related to the disappearance of his daughter. Some weren’t but it was just interesting to know anyway. The ending was something I did not expect. I was already putting the blame on whoever was coming along but afterwards when it all sinks in it’s rather shocking and almost..creepy. I just like it how it all started with one huge large difficult puzzle and the pieces just fit together nicely in the end.

It’s a great book if you’re into twists and turns and unexpected finds.

Overall this book gets an 8 out of 10.

Written by Karoline

August 14, 2009 at 7:30 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I read this recently. I liked it too but it’s definitely a plot centered thriller and not a lot of focus on the characters.

    Jenny

    August 14, 2009 at 12:09 pm


Leave a Reply

