Booking Through Thursday 8/13

Today’s Booking Through Thursday Question is: What’s the worst book you’ve read recently?

– Wow. Recently? I’d have to go back on my reviews on this one. It’s a bit of a tie then. I won’t count the books that I had to set down because they were boring because I didn’t complete them, therefore it wouldn’t be fair for me to judge. Of the ones I have reviewed recently it’s a tie between Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch and Blue Bloods by Melissa De La Cruz. Yes, I gave Blue Bloods a 7 out of 10 but that was because the ending was really good. Otherwise if it hadn’t been for the ending it’ll probably be lowered than Red Seas Under Red Skies. Why do I dislike these two books?

Red Seas Under Red Skies really and I mean REALLY dragged. It was more than a bloody 400 pages of what? the same roundabout plot! I kept on putting it off and kept telling myself: “Jeez Locke Lamora..WTF?? just get on with it” and I have to admit..I did skip about 20 pages of endless roundabout stuff. It wasn’t as good as the first book and apparently there’s about 5 more books after that. Garg. I’m not sure if I’m going to read the next book (The Republic of Thieves) I’ll think about it.

Blue Bloods was filled with name branding. The more I think about it, the more I was actually bothered by it. I’m reading Masquerade (the second one) and although I’m just into the first few chapters I skipped through endless sentences of designer label description. I DON’T CARE WHAT THEY’RE WEARING. I’m actually regretting reading it right now. Perhaps I’m not in the right mindset for it at the moment but I’m forcing myself to read it and get it over with.

I’m still not over that Cosabella Thong thing. WHY label a bloody piece of underwear? do we care? really..do we? (oh and an LOL at Michael who claims Cosabella Thong sounds like someone out of Twilight) LOL.

Out of the two series if you had to pay me to read, I’d take Locke Lamora over the Italian Vogue – er I mean the Blue Bloods 😛 at least Locke Lamora doesn’t wear Christian Dior and needs to flaunt it about. (Oh hey does he wear Hugo Boss speedos?) har har.

What’s the worst book you’ve read?

10 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday 8/13

    • I try. Really. I’d rather joke sarcastically about it than stew and rant and pretend I’m an evil dictator and writing a law saying the book should be burned 😛

  1. Oh, I hate when books are so slow you can’t finish them. Usually, I end up reading one sentence, then staring around the room for 2 minutes. Hate it so much! So, thanks for the heads up!

  2. The branding thing drives me nuts. The all time gold standard of bad books in my world contained a line about the main character putting her credit card in the “black, leatherette, American Express folder.” Yes, more than 5 years on I still remember the nitpicky minutia laden branding of this particular bad novel. Wish I could scrape it from my brain and put something more worthy of retaining in its place!

Leave a Reply

