Booking Through Thursday 8/6

Today’s Booking Through Thursday question is:

What’s the most serious book you’ve read recently?

It would have to be Shanghai Girls by Lisa See. There was nothing light hearted about the book. It was dramatic like I said in my review, but the content was really down to earth and realistic. I think that’s why right after I finished it I switched to Rebel Angels by Libba Bray. Because I just needed something fantastical to get away from a real deep read. I find that when I read serious novels like that my mind feels heavy which is why I just switch to something lighter. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind a serious book every so often, it’s just we often read to escape, right?

It’s sort of like watching a very dramatic movie. Wouldn’t you want to watch a comedy or a cartoon right after?

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday 8/6

Leave a Reply

