Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Review of Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side

with 5 comments

Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side

Jessica's Guide to Dating on the Dark Side

First. I know, I hate judging books by their covers. This one though, I like. It’s very..romantic. (Yes, I have a special affinity for vampires) No really. Surely we all dreamnt of waltzing with that tall dark handsome stranger? (albeit alive or dead).

I expected a light read – even a comical one. It was for the first half. You see light bantering between Lucius and Jessica (also known as Antanasia). Jessica finds him annoying and overbearing whereas Lucius does whatever he can to convince Jessica that she’s his betrothed and a vampire princess. Suddenly Jessica finds her world turned upside down. Alas I will leave my summary there or I’d give it all away. Through the second half of the novel, it’s not so light and happy anymore. The story starts getting darker and more serious. The ending, well you may call it predictable, you might not. I liked it and it made the entire story a rather satisfying read.

I found it odd how I found Jessica so annoying in the first half, and then in the last half Lucius took her place. Perhaps it was meant to be that way? you just wanted to smack both them upside the head and make them see reason it was so frustrating! (but frustrating in a good way). As characters, I like Lucius the most (who wouldn’t?) he oozes charm and probably could have easily swept me off my feet and we would have done a rendition of that Red Bull commercial (you know, the one with the vampire). He may have been aggrevating at first as he’s as stubborn and has to have his own way but it’s all about the vampire charm. He just flips it on like a switch and you’re instantly sept away. It was hard to like Jessica at first. I’m not really sure why, I just didn’t warm up to her like I did with Lucius. I think it was just the way she acted in the beginning of the book. She was almost like a spoiled child and her constant repeated denial just seemed to get on my nerves. When she was faced with a real bad dilemma, I sort of felt she had brought that on herself. However as you start feeling generally annoyed at Lucius and liking Jessica more, she acts more mature and more accepting of who she is. You just see Jessica “growing up” through the plot.

Overall a good read. It’s a short one, so it’s something that could be read in a week or so. The plot was good and it flowed perfectly. No loose ends though! I could whine and cry out for a sequel, but I’m not so sure. Somehow this one ends up being perfect as a stand alone novel.

I give it an 8 out of 10.

Written by Karoline

August 5, 2009 at 8:32 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m reading one like this, where the heroine is very irritating to begin with, but you like her near the end. Character development through a book is quite interesting, and when done in the company of a vampire, I imagine, more fun too.

    Hazra

    August 5, 2009 at 9:18 pm

  2. Had to laugh at judging a book by its cover. I use to tell people I didn’t, but I have changed. 😉

    J. Kaye

    August 5, 2009 at 9:33 pm

  3. oh i love that cover, and must find that red bull commercial. vampires and energy drinks? how could i have missed that one!?

    Lusty Reader

    August 6, 2009 at 9:21 am

  4. I am curious about the red bull commercial myself. lol

    So an 8 out of 10? I’ll definitely be picking this one up! Thanks for your review, you have solved my dilemma–I am no longer on the fence! Great review, by the way!

    Jessica

    August 6, 2009 at 10:06 am

  5. Enjoyed your review! And loved the comments about smacking them both! I’ve felt that way about characters before! *L* Will take a look at this one next time I’m at the book store. Thanks for bringing it to my attention! Love finding new books this way!

    Alexia561

    August 7, 2009 at 8:21 pm


Leave a Reply

