Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Review of Rebel Angels

with 5 comments

Rebel Angels

Rebel Angels

First things first, I love the title “Rebel Angels” it’s magnificent. It just sounds..awesome. Second I love the cover. I liked the first cover (A Great and Terrible Beauty) and this one is just as good. Enough about that let’s just get on with the review.

It is strongly recommended that you read A Great and Terrible Beauty first as it introduces you to the characters and the actual start of the big picture. I really enjoyed this book a lot more than the first one as I had so many unanswered questions left when I finished it which is why I rushed like mad to find Rebel Angels. It does a good job giving you more information on The Order and the Rakshana and their little magic world that’s just behind “that door”. So now with that good amount of information the plot in this book goes very smooth and combined with the action and mystery, it makes for a very good Victorian Gothic style book to read.

There is enough mystery and intrigue in this book to keep you guessing who’s really the “bad guy” here and when you finally do figure it out you might probably feel a bit of shock at first because you thought you knew all along or you may not be surprised at all. It’s hard to say. I had quite a few guesses but my first initial guess was wrong so I suppose it was a pleasant surprise for me. If I was right it would have been predictable and perhaps boring. However I liked how you were given options on who might be behind it all so chances are maybe it’s meant to be written that way so it won’t be so predictable.

Gemma is extremely more likable every time she opens her mouth or has a witty thought. If you liked her in the first book, you’ll like her even more here. I liked her sense of independence and she did have this extra spark in her personality which made her stand out against the rest of the other characters. Speaking of wit, despite the real serious dark tones in the novel, there’s little bits of comedy here and there that made me chuckle several times. I think it was because you can also hear what Gemma is thinking and some of the things that run in her head is actually quite funny (especially when Felicity and Ann decide to pick at her and laugh).

The ending of the novel leaves you with wanting more. You know that the fight isn’t even over. They’re just taking a break before the big one begins. If you have ever seen Lord of the Rings The Two Towers remember the ending? yeah, it feels like that. You know there’s something big that’s going to happen in the grand finale. I’m really looking forward to how this ends.

I give this book a 9 out of 10.

Written by Karoline

July 29, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Posted in 9, Review

Tagged with , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I read the first, A Great and terrible Beauty. I like it, but didn’t love it. I may have to get the second, though, after reading your review.

    Carol

    July 30, 2009 at 10:54 am

    • Rebel Angels is ten times better than the first one 🙂 I felt the same way about A Great and Terrible Beauty.

      Karoline

      July 30, 2009 at 11:21 am

  2. do you think you could go into it without reading the first one.

    hodgepodgespv

    July 30, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    • you could..but I don’t think it would be a good then as the first one does have a lot of background information and Rebel Angels does fall back on that info.

      Karoline

      July 30, 2009 at 6:31 pm

  3. I want to start reading these. I see great reviews on them but have not picked them up. 🙂

    Good morning!

    Bookjourney

    July 31, 2009 at 6:07 am


Leave a Reply

