Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Musing Monday 7/27

with 3 comments

Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about online book sites…

Do you have an account with an online book database site (LibraryThing, Shelfari, GoodReads etc)? If so, do you have a preference? Do you use it for – your own record keeping? finding new books to read? social networking?

*blushes like mad* I have an account with all three. Only because I post reviews on the books I’ve read. However I have broken it down so I use them each for a different purpose:

Shelfari: I started with this one. Its’ wishlist is …LARGE. I use this one the most to add books on my wishlist that are only available at the library.

LibraryThing: I use this wishlist for the books I want to buy 🙂 also, I use this one for their images of bookcovers to save and put into my blog when I do my reviews.

Goodreads: I mostly use for the widget because for some reason the other two only have flash/javascript widgets and wordpress.com is too stupid to allow those kinds of things on our blogs. Why? I don’t know. A security issue I suppose. Whatever it’s a little silly if you ask me.

I don’t use any for social networking. I used to, but noticed some of the groups I have joined are filled with elitist book snobs that are holier than thou and think you should only read “this one” because they say so. Bleh. So I stopped joining those groups.

However if you want to see what I’ve been reading/have read just look me up if you’d like 🙂 All three accounts are under Sensitivemuse. Shelfari has the bigger list as I joined that first long before I’ve heard of the other two.

Written by Karoline

July 27, 2009 at 9:45 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I much prefer GoodReads to the other two sites. I actually like the look of the GoodReads “montage” widget better than any other that I’ve seen at LibraryThing or Shelfari.

    Here is my answer.

    Susan B. Evans

    July 27, 2009 at 10:02 am

  2. The only one I use is GoodReads. No particular reason, though. I think it’s just the first one I ran across.

    Carol

    July 27, 2009 at 1:47 pm

  3. I belong to all three as well, but seem to like Goodreads the best. May be because that was the first site I joined, but there’s just something about it that appeals to me.

    I tend to put things in my Goodreads wishlist and don’t really use the other two for my TBR books. I tried updating all three with everything, but it just got too time consuming.

    Good idea about using one for your library books and the other for bookstore lists!

    Alexia561

    July 27, 2009 at 7:24 pm


Leave a Reply

