Review of Blue Bloods Book One

Blue Bloods
Blue Bloods

This is one of the most interesting vampire stories I have ever read yet. They’re vampires but not your typical vampire (ie: avoids the sunlight, hates crosses, etc etc). These are most likely very rich, privileged vampires who are in high places in New York City running everything behind the scenes but maintaining a very human facade. Interesting thing is, you don’t know you’re one until you turn 15, I suppose it’s sort of like puberty in a rather twisted sense. You belong to a charity that serves a front for what’s really like a coven where you mingle with your other vampire buddies. You die, but you don’t..in a sense you’re just leaving the “life cycle” and will end up coming back later..it’s rather odd it’s sort of the way reincarnation works..except you’re always a vampire in the next life – which I thought was really neat. Blue Bloods is interesting and quite different from other vampire stories I have read. Without giving much away, the main plot is; someone’s killing off these vampires and it’s someone or something real big bad and nasty.

I thought for a first novel, it was pretty good plot setting wise. Everything was introduced and explained. Of course there are always questions in the end but at least you get the general idea of what they are, and who, and what’s going on. It’s actually a pretty good starter for a series. One of the better ones I have read in a while.

Character wise, I’d say I’m attached to Oliver. He’s your always loyal, always there guy and I’m a sucker for those types of men. The rest of the characters are very interesting. The thing with Mimi and Jack is a little creepy and…taboo I suppose. Ever read Black Order by James Rollins? remember those twins? yeah, that kind of creepy. You have to remember though, these characters are teenagers, and with that you have their usual melodrama (ie: cliques, the confused romantic issues, the frenemies..yeah you know) but I think it’s a nice blend of teenage issues with a gothic twist that should be in adult novels.

I liked the ending. A lot. It’s a great cliffhanger and does make me want to grab the next book in line. I must admit, I almost gave up on this novel.

Why did I nearly give up this novel?

Let me explain, with the following quotes:

“…a pair of tight four-thousand-dollar Apo jeans with the platinum rivets and a diamond button, a chunky Martine Sitbon sweater, and slim butter-colored Jimmy Choo stilettos.”

“He looked sexy in his ripped Ben Fold t-shirt. He kicked off his Nike Dunks and patted the empty space next to him.”

“…she was lying there, in only her Cosabella thong…”

okay. Stop stop stop. Please. Explain to me WHY we need to know what brand name someone’s thong is?? do we care? are we going to go out shopping and yell out: “Someone help me find a Cosabella thong!!!” I don’t think so. This book was filled with silly descriptions on what brands of clothing these people were wearing it was like you were reading an Italian Vogue instead of an actual book. What are you trying to do, name drop? it’s rediculous! I understand the authors is quite well versed in the fashion industry, and it’s understandable that we are talking about rich characters who would never stoop low and buy generic brand names but what in the world does that have to do with the plot or story line?? why the need to drop fashion names as if you’re trying to advertise something? was the author getting paid to drop labels like that in a book? if so, hook me up because I want to do that and get paid just to write fashion names in a book.

That nearly threw me off and I almost didn’t finish this. If it wasn’t for the great cliffhanger ending, I wouldn’t have given it a second chance. Also, pure stubborness on my part, I just felt like I had to get this novel finished and over with.

If it hadn’t been for the stupid fashion labels, the book would have gotten a better score. Overall a great plot, pretty good characters and great ending but I wouldn’t waste the money on this. It’s better as a library take out. I will be reading the series as I am stubborn and they’re quick reads as long as I skim the useless fashion descriptions.

I give it a 7 out of 10. (I hope the labels are left out in the next book but I highly doubt it)

2 thoughts on “Review of Blue Bloods Book One

  1. I have read all three in the series and blogged about them aswell. I agree i thought her twist on The Vampire was new and fresh lol. I didn’t really notice the label dropping too much i guess i just figured that because they were socialites it came with the territory :). Good review!

Leave a Reply

