Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Musing Monday Part 2

with 6 comments

Okay I just had a bloody brain fart. I posted a Musing Monday that’s super old. So let’s do this all over again and pretend I didn’t do the previous one okay? 😛 It’s monday, forgive my stupidity.

Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about mid-year reading…

Now that we’ve come to the middle of the year, what do you think of your 2009 reading so far? Read anything interesting that you’d like to share? Any outstanding favourites?

– The most interesting book I’ve read so far? There’s two that come to mind. The Road by Cormac McCarthy, and Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson. The Road because it’s a good book, it’s fast and although bleak and depressing. It’s a bit of an eye opener. I say Mistborn because it’s a very different kind of fantasy that I read so far. No dragons in this one. It’s a unique kind of fantasy and definitely worth the read. As far as outstanding favorites, The Constant Princess by Philippa Gregory would be it because I’m such a mush and the love story in it was so nice. I normally don’t like romance but, this kind of romance in the book was tasteful and not your average stupidity you find in Harlequin (I hate those bodice ripper kinds, they’re a waste of my time in my opinion)

Anyway! I would definitely recommend The Road since it’s going to be a movie released this fall 🙂

Written by Karoline

June 29, 2009 at 11:57 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My wife is a fan of Phillipa Gregory – I think she has The Constant Princess, and four others, she enjoyed them all.. But as far as discussing The Other Boleyn Girl movie with her… Not a pleasant experience. Sometimes you should just enjoy a novel and leave the movie version alone.

    findthecenter

    June 29, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    • ewwwww yes I didn’t like the movie either. I’m glad I read the book first too. 🙂

      Karoline

      June 29, 2009 at 1:13 pm

  2. hmmm, that’s strange – apparently I am ‘findthecenter’… ooookay, what’s up with my computer / network today anyway??

    Michael

    June 29, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    • not sure…I’m here as “karoline” even though everywhere else I go by “okbolover” *shrugs* it’s monday..what else can I say? haha.

      Karoline

      June 29, 2009 at 1:13 pm

  3. I’m leaving a comment just to see who I “am” while visiting : )

    (My list is up)

    Mary

    June 29, 2009 at 1:39 pm

  4. Oh, look! It’s me!

    Mary

    June 29, 2009 at 1:40 pm


Leave a Reply

