Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Musing Mondays

with 4 comments

Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about library borrowing…

Do you restrict yourself on how many books you take out from the library at a time? Do you borrow books if you already have some out? Do you always reborrow books you don’t get to?

*giggles insanely* I HAVE to restrict myself to about 4 books or else I’d be taking a lot more and just never have the time to read them. I also borrow books when I already have some out so I have to keep track of due dates or I’d have Nny yell at me over overdue fines. I don’t get him sometimes. He yells at me for having overdue books but doesn’t complain when I spend this money on a credit card..hmm…oh well can’t complain huh?

Sometimes I reborrow books I don’t get to. It depends. If I’m halfway on a book and have to return it because it was put on hold then I find a way to take it out again. Otherwise, if I have to return it without reading it, I make a note to myself about the book and take it out when I feel like it. Sometimes I take books out according to my moods and when I get to them, I just don’t feel like reading them sometimes.

Right now I have about 6 books out. I think I should get to them really soon 😛

Written by Karoline

June 22, 2009 at 11:24 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I never have overdue books. I know once I slip up, I’m done for!
    Here’s my musing

    jennygirl

    June 22, 2009 at 12:15 pm

  2. 4 books sounds like a good amount, quick to turn over. This Musing Monday was a timely one – I had actually logged on to my library web site to renew the last batch I had borrowed. The pile of books near my dining table has been neglected this last week. Ah well, it is so easy to renew online, there is no way for me to complain. Although I really do try to stay out of the library until I wrap up my batch – whatever ones I finish get sent through the drop-off slot after hours, which in the summer means the weekend, since my local library is not open on weekends again until the schools start up again in September..
    As for library fines, there was an interesting blog post somewhere recently about a large library giving amnesty for overdue fines, so long as you provided an excuse. The blog highlighted some of the better excuses – I think one included the borrower having been abducted by aliens two months ago and just being returned…

    Michael

    June 23, 2009 at 9:02 am

    • When you said the library is closed on the weekend due to schools closed…that idea just baffles me…..our libraries here are open all the time except stat holidays. I’d cry if the library was closed on weekend like that….

      madebykaroline

      June 23, 2009 at 10:06 am

      • It does make my browsing time a little less lazy, since it is only open a couple of evenings during the week and I work through the day.

        findthecenter

        June 23, 2009 at 1:27 pm


Leave a Reply

