Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Review of Fearscape by Simon Holt

with 2 comments

Fearscape

Fearscape

I recommend that you read: The Devouring, and Soulstice before jumping into this one. It would make the story more complete and gives you detailed background material. Besides, it’s a great series!

It’s been a year since Reggie first discovered the Vours, and the Winter Solstice is approaching once again. It will be another night of unspeakable horror for those unlucky enough to be taken by the Vours, because this time, she won’t be able to stop them. The Vours have imprisoned Reggie in a psychiatric hospital, where she is subjected to a daily routine of unfathomably sadistic experiments. Her life is a living Hell, but she won’t give up. They attacked her brother. They killed her friend. And Reggie will never stop fighting back. (From Amazon.ca)

What can say except that this series has been really really good? so good I couldn’t stop reading this book. After that cliffhanger ending from Soulstice I just couldn’t get my hands on this one.

The story takes a darker turn as Reggie is in a dangerous situation. I was so angry at her father for putting her where she is, it gave me such a sense of triumph when he was finally proven wrong. I really enjoyed reading about the various Fearscapes Reggie dives into. They’re scary, and well written to give you goosebumps.

Unlike the first two, Reggie does take a little backward step and isn’t much in the limelight. It instead focuses on Aaron and Quinn. I still don’t like Quinn and I don’t think I ever will. Maybe because of his actions in the past, but I don’t trust him still and even though it looks like he’s turned over a new leaf he’s still just not likable to me. I really did root for Aaron though. I loved how he just developed from being a total geeky nerd to a total fighter. He’s taken it upon himself to rescue Reggie and to fight the Vours with all that he can. He’s gotten considerably stronger in this book, but even he can’t fight the Vours all by himself. The action gets good here in this book, and there’s no shortage of it.

Reggie’s development as a character was all right, although it’s not what I wanted it to be. She eventually faces someone from her past and it turns out to be a pretty bad. Not quite what I expected, but I figured something like that should happen in this type of book. I wish there would be an even amount of focus on both her and Aaron as characters, but it seems that Aaron dominated throughout this book more than she did. It’s no big deal, but it just felt as if Reggie turned into a cardboard character and was left in the background for most of the story.

The ending was good, and it did close (most) of the loose ends. I did not like who Reggie ended up with and thought that was a pretty poor choice. I’m curious about Aaron and what he plans to do. Who knows, it might leave room for one more book in this series? Nevertheless Fearscape was a great ending to a terrific series. I most definitely recommend this to any thriller YA fans out there.

I give it a 10 out of 10.

Written by Karoline

March 29, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Posted in 10

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. does aaron die because it says that “they killed her friend?”

    javeria

    December 3, 2011 at 8:59 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,366 other followers

