Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Book Blogger Hop 12/3

with 9 comments

Book Blogger Hop

 

Today’s question is:  “What very popular and hyped book in the blogosphere did you NOT enjoy and how did you feel about posting your review?”

- Let’s see here (pulls out Mary Poppins file cabinet to see). I didn’t enjoy Paranormalcy as much as everyone else did. I’m not sure why, perhaps the main character didn’t really get to me. (Actually she got to me in a rather negative sense). I didn’t feel anything about posting my review because that’s what it is. A review. It’s just my opinion. I shouldn’t have to feel bad for posting something that did not fall with how the majority of the book blogging world felt. In fact, I will never understand how people always ask about posting negative reviews. Why should you feel bad about posting something negative when it’s your HONEST opinion???? naturally, there’s bound to be people (and authors) that may disagree with you, but if everybody agreed with everything, the world would certainly be a boring place wouldn’t it? (stop me before I go on my soapbox about this..)

- Another book, which doesn’t really count because I read it before I started a book blog. Yet everyone still raves about , is The Historian. I will never ever ever ever EVER understand why everyone raves and continues to rave about this book. I actually read it from cover to cover and regretted it. It’s one of the few times where if I could, I would ask for a refund of my time wasted on reading this novel. Actually! it’s thanks to this novel where I came to the point where if I don’t like a book past a certain number of pages I’ll drop it instantly.

So! what does everyone else think? if you’re from the Hop, hello! drop by! I’m making early Christmas cookies and need a few willing people to try them :)

Written by Karoline

December 2, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Posted in Book Blogger Hop, Meme

Tagged with ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stopping in via the hop! I also didn’t really enjoy Paranormalcy and I think a lot of this was due to the main character. I didn’t like her at all and at times found myself so irritated I had to put the book down.

    Happy weekend

    1girl2manybooks

    December 3, 2010 at 1:55 am

    • thanks for stopping by. I’m also glad I’m not the only one to feel that way. Argh. Evie needs a good slap to the head….bwahahah.

      Karoline

      December 3, 2010 at 8:59 am

  2. I loved Paranormalcy but you’re not the only one who didn’t. I think as long as someone doesn’t trash a book meanly, there’s nothing wrong with saying that you didn’t like it and why.
    My Hop

    Alison

    December 3, 2010 at 5:41 am

  3. Just hopping by…I usually don’t read anything paranormal (especially with vampires!), because I know I won’t enjoy it.

    Here’s my post:

    http://curlupandread.wordpress.com/2010/12/03/book-blogger-hop-dec-3-6/

    laurelrainsnow

    December 3, 2010 at 7:43 am

  4. Oh Christmas cookies, yes please, yummy :-)

    I haven’t read your choices. I totally agree about it being an honest review I have just seen some rude comments, luckily not on my blog.

    My response to my question.

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/12/popular-and-hyped-books-you-did-not.html

    Marce

    December 3, 2010 at 12:10 pm

  5. I’m about halfway through the Historian. It’s okay but I’m not a fan of the chunkster book. My tastes are so eclectic I’m not usually reading popular fiction while it’s still popular. You can my full answer here. Happy Blog Hop.

    Pussreboots

    December 3, 2010 at 2:23 pm

  6. Cookies….cookies…..where do I get the cookies?? :) I live in BC, it’s probably too far to drive, right?? Anyways, I’ll be dreaming of cookies tonight…I found you through the hop!

    Barb

    December 4, 2010 at 7:50 pm

  7. Hi! Saw your Tweet so I thought I’d show some blog love. Hope your having a great day,
    Natalie :0)
    http://www.thebookinn.net

    Natalie

    December 7, 2010 at 2:38 pm

  8. I haven’t read either of those. I think the one I didn’t liek that others did was The Shadow Game. It just didn’t live up to the hype for me.

    Carol

    December 8, 2010 at 1:06 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,357 other followers

