Okbo Lover

One more page, one more chapter, one more book!

Review of Infected

with 5 comments

Infected

Infected

I just finished Infected by Scott Sigler (Read my Teaser for Tuesdays below) and I’m left with: “I need to find the next book!”. It’s science fiction (somewhat) as it’s taken place in present day with scientific theories and studies. However there’s not a lot of science to make you go “Huh?” and a little bit of technical terminology but nothing that will make you feel as if you have to be a rocket scientist to read the book. (Added bonus there’s no physics! har har). When I first picked up this book I thought it was going to be a zombie novel but I was far wrong. It’s totally different and I think I’m going to leave it up to you to pick it up and read. Yes, it has something to do with disease and some medical issues but that’s where it stops and the insanity starts. There’s plenty of action in this book, and it actually starts in the prologue and in the first few chapters so you definitely won’t be bored. There is graphic detail, so if you’re squeamish or if you’re eating dinner it’s not recommended. There were parts in there that made me just want to cringe in pain and it went on for several pages and chapters but it’s essential to the plot in my opinion. There are elements of comedy (albeit dark comedy) that do make you laugh out loud (at least I did) but it’s enough to keep light of the situation but at the same time shows the seriousness of what’s going on. (You’ll laugh with the incident of Perry and his bare butt with the ruler..don’t ask just read it) :D

Character wise, I’d have to like Dew. He’s your regular soldier turned CIA guy with a edge for sarcasm and wit. Plus he has a thing for tootsie rolls and throwing the wrappers on the floor wherever he is, I just thought that was a funny quirk of his. It’s hard to describe him, I guess he’s your tough guy with the one liners but not the cheesy cliche ones. So that makes him cool in my book.

The drawback of this novel? hmmm. Well if you’re squeamish I guess it would be that, there is quite a bit of swearing if it bothers you. For me, it would be this stupid “sexual tension” between two characters (who I didn’t really like to start with). In the words of a character named Amos: “Why don’t you two just fuck and get it over with already?” pretty much sums up those two.

All in all a great entertaining read! I give it a 9 out of 10 :)

Written by Karoline

July 1, 2009 at 10:47 am

Posted in 9, Books, Review

Tagged with , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow! I’m thrilled you enjoyed the book so much. And I’m happy that you seemed to “get” all the things I was using as back-end layering: real science, but not enough to make you go “huh?”, technical terminology that’s explained and part of the plot, not there to show how “smart” the reader is, etc.

    The sequel is called CONTAGIOUS, and I hope you enjoy that as well.

    Scott Sigler

    July 1, 2009 at 2:33 pm

  2. *screams as if she saw the Beatles*

    heeeeyyy thanks for your comment!!!!!! seriously! your book rocked! I think Contagious is available at the library if not I’m going to have to buy!

    Karoline

    July 1, 2009 at 3:02 pm

  3. Makes me want to read it, actually. -Loves Horror/Thrillers-

    Kelly

    July 1, 2009 at 8:17 pm

  4. Hello there, thanks for your comment to my blog — it’s nice to meet you!

    I like the sound of this one. Yes, it does sound like a zombie book, but even though its not it still intrigues me.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Sassy :)

    Sassy Brit

    July 3, 2009 at 3:20 pm

  5. [...] read 2 books already by this author (Infected and Contagious). Both I have immensely enjoyed. There’s a third book to that series but I’ll [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers

